Chiefs need OT to strike first in MSL final

The Six Nations Pro-Fit Chiefs have been very comfortable playing extra lacrosse during this Major Series Lacrosse post season. And that showed Sunday night in Game 1 of the MSL final against the Peterborough Lakers.
After Shawn Evans tied the game with 24 seconds remaining in regulation time, the Chiefs punched in during overtime, with Tehoka Nanticoke, Jeremy Thompson and Kevin Brownwell adding an empty-net goal to lead the Chiefs to a 12-10 win over the Lakers on the road.
Dhane Smith led the offence in regulation, scoring three goals and three assists, while Shayne Jackson, and Nanticoke scored two goals each. Chris Cloutier, Brendan Bomberry and Tyson Bell also pitched in with one goal apiece.
Doug Jamieson got the call between the Chiefs pipes and bounced back with a great performance, making 49 saves to preserve the win.
Shawn Evans led the Lakers with two goals and three assists, while Josh Courrier netted the hat trick. Turner Evans scored twice, while Joe Resetarits, Mark Matthews and Holden Cattoni scored one each.
Matt Vinc was great in goal for the Lakers, turning aside 52 shots.
With the victory, the Chiefs take a 1-0 lead in the best-of-seven MSL final series. GAme 2 is Tuesday at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena at 8pm.
If you can't get to the game, you can watch the game on Lacrosse TV.

In the Western Lacrosse Association final, the Maple Ridge Burrards tied its best-of-seven final up with the Victoria Shamrocks thanks to a 10-7 win Sunday at home.
The Shamrocks struck first in the final with a thrilling 7-6 win in overtime Friday night in Victoria.
GAme 3 is set for Tuesday night in Victoria.
The winner of the WLA final will earn the right to host the winner of the MSL final in the
Mann Cup.


Popular Posts