Lakers strike first in MSL final

The Peterborough Lakers got to taste victory first in the Major Series Lacrosse final.
Curtis Dickson scored three times and added a pair of helpers to lead the Lakers to a 6-4 win over the Six Nations Pro-Fit Chiefs Tuesday at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena.
After the two teams exchanged two goals each in the first period, the Lakers scored early in the second and third periods and didn't look back.
Jeff Shattler and Craig Point scored in the first period, with Dickson and Shawn Evans responding.
Scott Evans and Dickson gave the Lakers the lead, with Dhane Smith inching the Chiefs back to within two.
In the third period, Cory Vitarelli and Dickson added to the lead, with Ryan Benesch scoring the Chiefs lone goal.
Matt Vinc was outstanding between the Lakers pipes, making 44 saves to preserve the victory. Dillon Ward also made 44 saves in the loss.
With the Lakers holding 1-0 series lead, things shift to Peterborough Thursday, with Game 3 back at the ILA. Both games are at 8pm.

In the Western Lacrosse Association final, the Victoria Shamrocks took a 2-0 series lead over the New Westminster Salmonbellies thanks to a 10-9 win Monday. The winner of the WLA series will host the MSLchampion
for the Mann Cup.

Six Nations Chiefs v Peterborough Lakers

Lakers lead best-of-seven MSL Final 1-0

Game 1 Peterborough 6, Chiefs 4

Game 2 August 20, Peterborough, 8pm

Game 3 August 21, ILA, 8pm

Game 4 August 23, Peterborough, 7pm

Game 5 August 24, ILA, 8pm

Game 6 August 27, Peterborough, 8pm

Game 7 TBD


Popular Posts