Chiefs win MSL championship

Photo by Vintage LAX
It doesn't matter how you start, it's how you finish.
Despite a slow start Sunday night in front of a very loud and full Peterborough Memorial Centre, the Six Nations Pro-Fit Chiefs scored seven unanswered goals to defeat the Peterborough Lakers 9-5, to clinch its second-straight Major Series Lacrosse championship.
After John Grant Jr. scored three minutes into the second period to give his team a 5-2 lead, chasing Evan Kirk from the Chiefs net in favour of Brandon Miller, it looked as though the Lakers would take Game 7 of the best-of-seven series.
But with four minutes remaining in the period, Cody Jamieson scored his second goal of the game to breath some life into the Chiefs.
And that's when it happened.
Craig Point scored a minute and a half into the third period. That goal was followed by Vaughn Harris, Roger Vyse and Jeff Shattler scoring in a 1:08 span to take the lead. Shattler then added his second of the game with five minutes to go, before Jamieson added his third of the game to finish the Lakers off for good.
In the first period, Point got the Chiefs off to the start they were looking for. But the Lakers responded in a big way, with Brad Self, and Mark Steenhuis scoring two goals each, before Jamieson scored his first of the game.
With the victory, the Chiefs now host the Victoria Shamrocks in a best-of-seven series for the Mann Cup, beginning Friday at 8 pm. For more details about the Mann Cup, stay tuned. They will be announced on this website.


Popular Posts